en / fr

Our strength: being multi-generational

Company name : ADA ASBL

Activity sector : Financial and insurance activities

Company category : Foundation, Non-profit, NGO

 

Encourage

Description of the action

Like many organisations and companies in Luxembourg, ADA is fortunate to offer its employees a multicultural working environment. We have always provided the same opportunities in terms of career, salary and work/life balance for both men and women.

ADA's management is also convinced that the presence of different generations among its employees represents a real asset not only in terms of human experience, but above all for the opportunities it offers in terms of sharing experiences and therefore for the growth of the organisation.

Indeed, each generation is characterised by different value systems and knowledge. For ADA, valuing these diversities is a priority, in order to turn them into an asset for the benefit of all, and especially for our partners in the South.

Context

With an average age of 35, our organization can be considered "young". At the same time we can count on the presence of pivotal persons over 50 years old, who enjoy a certain degree of general appreciation and listening skills, unrelated to their hierarchical position at different levels in the NGO.

Approach

For our organisation, the presence of senior staff is essential due to their experience and in-depth knowledge of the technical aspects of inclusive finance. For this reason, the oldest among our employees are considered as reference points by the entire organisation.

Likewise, our younger employees, with their enthusiasm, desire to learn, ability to adapt to change and openness to the new opportunities offered by a fast-moving world, embody renewal and the desire for a future viewed with confidence.

Thus, one of the most innovative projects launched by ADA, the "Digital Finance Initiative", is the result of an idea proposed by young employees in their thirties who are passionate about the Internet and information technology. It has been validated but also adapted to the reality on the ground in emerging countries by experienced employees, often in their fifties. Today, a forty-year-old manager is in charge of implementing it.

Objectives

Valuing the presence of different generations among employees as an opportunity in terms of experience sharing and therefore organizational growth.

Impact

Believing in the richness of collaboration between different generations is a strong sign that diversity is alive. The last two recruits were, for example, a 28-year-old French woman and a 56-year-old man of Togolese origin with extensive professional experience in the field in Africa.

Collaboration between employees of different ages has enabled us to value the professional experience of the most experienced and to develop the younger ones in their know-how and their careers, with a concrete advantage in terms of performance and results for the organisation.

« To do »

  • In our teams, the different generational approaches coexist and strengthen each other, thanks to the shared values that underpin our business and the strong motivation that characterizes NGOs. Wanting to develop a positive impact on the lives of our final beneficiaries in the South often starts by respecting and accepting the talents of all, regardless of their origins, ages and experiences. The organisation's ongoing work to strengthen this common base guarantees this positive environment among employees in any case.
  • Finally, our organisation favours common intergenerational working moments in project mode and has institutionalised spaces for discussion and exchange to encourage the mutual transmission of experience and know-how. This last action represents an opportunity for the new generations to prepare themselves to become the future management of the organisation for an ever better future of inclusive finance.

« Not to do »

  • Avoid age as a discriminating factor.

Keywords : Diversity management plan

Published on 01 January 2017

×

Notre force: être multigénérationnel

Company name : ADA ASBL

Activity sector : Financial and insurance activities

Company category : Foundation, Non-profit, NGO

 

Encourage

Description of the action

Comme beaucoup d’organisations et d’entreprises au Luxembourg, ADA a la chance d’offrir à ses collaborateurs un environnement de travail multiculturel. Depuis toujours nous avons aussi assuré les mêmes opportunités en termes de carrière, de salaire et d’équilibre vie privée / vie professionnelle aux hommes comme aux femmes.

Le management de ADA est aussi persuadé que la présence de différentes générations parmi ses employés représente un véritable atout pas seulement en termes d’expérience humaine, mais surtout pour les opportunités qu’elle offre en termes de partage d’expériences et donc de croissance de l’organisation.

En effet chaque génération se caractérise par des systèmes des valeurs et des savoirs différents. Pour ADA, valoriser ces diversités constitue une priorité, afin  d’en faire une richesse au bénéfice de tous, et surtout de nos partenaires dans les pays du Sud. 

Context

Avec un âge moyen de 35 ans, notre organisation peut être considérée « jeune ». En même temps nous pouvons compter sur la présence de personnes pivots de plus de 50 ans, qui jouissent d’un certain degré d’appréciation générale et d’écoute, sans lien avec leur position hiérarchique de différents niveaux dans l’ONG. 

Approach

Pour notre organisation, la présence de collaborateurs senior est primordiale par leur expérience et leur connaissance approfondie des aspects techniques de la finance inclusive. Pour cette raison, les plus âgés parmi nos employés sont considérés comme des points de référence par toute l’organisation.

De la même manière, nos jeunes collaborateurs, avec leur enthousiasme, désir d’apprendre, capacité de s’adapter aux changements et ouverture aux nouvelles opportunités offertes par un monde qui bouge vite, incarnent le renouvellement et l’envie d’un futur regardé avec confiance.

Ainsi, un des projets les plus innovants lancés par ADA, la « Digital Finance Initiative », est le résultat d’une idée proposée par des jeunes collaborateurs trentenaires, passionnés par Internet et les technologies de l’information. Il a été validé mais aussi adapté à la réalité du terrain des pays émergeants par des collaborateurs expérimentés, souvent cinquantenaires. C’est aujourd’hui un cadre quarantenaire qui est en charge de l’implémenter. 

Impact

Croire en la richesse de la collaboration entre les différentes générations est un signe fort pour faire vivre la diversité. Les deux  derniers recrutés ont été par exemple une jeune femme française de 28 ans et un homme d’origine togolaise de 56 ans avec une grande expérience professionnelle sur le terrain en Afrique.

La collaboration entre employés d’âges différents nous a permis de valoriser l’expérience professionnelle des plus expérimentés et de faire évoluer les plus jeunes dans leur savoir-faire et dans leur carrière, avec un avantage concret en termes de performance et de résultats pour l’organisation. 

Objectives

Valoriser la présence des différentes générations parmi les collaborateurs comme opportunité en termes de partage d’expériences et donc de croissance de l’organisation.

« To do »

  • Dans nos équipes, les différentes approches générationnelles coexistent et se renforcent, grâce au partage des valeurs à la base de notre activité et à la forte motivation qui caractérise les ONG. Vouloir développer un impact positif sur la vie de nos bénéficiaires finaux, dans les pays du sud, commence souvent par respecter et accepter les talents de tous, quels que soient les origines, les âges et les expériences. Le travail permanent de l’organisation pour renforcer ce socle commun garantit de toute façon cet environnement positif parmi les collaborateurs.


  • Enfin, notre organisation favorise des moments de travail communs intergénérationnels en mode projet et a institutionnalisé des espaces de discussion et d’échange pour favoriser la transmission mutuelle d’expérience, de savoir-faire. Cette dernière action représente l’opportunité pour les nouvelles générations pour se préparer à devenir le futur management de l’organisation pour un futur toujours meilleur de la finance inclusive. 

« Not to do »

  • Eviter que l’âge soit un facteur discriminant.

Keywords : Diversity management plan

×