en / fr
  • What does the EU do regarding diversity?
  • An exchange platform



It is illegal to discriminate on the grounds of age, disability, gender,race,religion or sexual orientation of a person. Yet, only one third of the European citizens is perfectly aware that they are legally protected fromdiscrimination.


The European Union informs citizens about their rights to fight any form ofdiscrimination in different ways:

  • By supporting NGOs, social partners and equality promoting bodies in their fight against discriminations,
  • By supporting equality policies at national level among Member States,
  • By providing anti-discrimination training,
  • By promoting diversity management within companies.


Source: https://ec.europa.eu/


The European Commission acknowledges the potential of diversity charters to contribute to the fight againstdiscrimination in the workplace and the promotion of equality.

That is why the Commission supports since 2010 an EU-wide platform for exchanges between organizations that help promoting and implementing national diversity charters. Currently there are 24 of them.

This platform is part of a larger project to support voluntary initiatives that promote diversity management in the workplace. The European exchange platform allows those who promote existing diversity charters to meet regularly during meetings, expert seminars and an annual forum in order to share experiences, best practices and develop common tools.


×

• Que fait l'UE en matière de diversité ?
  • Une plateforme d'échanges



Il est illégal de faire unediscrimination fondée sur l’âge, lehandicap, legenre, larace, lareligion ou l’orientation sexuelle d’une personne. Pourtant, seul un tiers des citoyens européens est parfaitement au courant qu’ils sont légalement protégés contre ladiscrimination.

L’Union européenne informe les citoyens sur leurs droits à lutter contre toute forme dediscrimination de façons différentes :

  • En soutenant les ONG, les partenaires sociaux et les organismes de promotion de l’égalité dans leur lutte contre les discriminations,
  • En soutenant des politiques d’égalité au niveau national parmi les Etats membres,
  • En mettant en place des formations anti-discrimination,
  • En promouvant lagestion de la diversité au sein des entreprises.


Source: https://ec.europa.eu/


La Commission européenne reconnaît la capacité des chartes de la diversité à contribuer à la lutte contre les discriminations sur le lieu de travail et à la promotion de l’égalité.

C’est pourquoi la Commission soutient depuis 2010 une plateforme d’échanges à l’échelle de l’UE entre les organisations qui contribuent à promouvoir et à mettre en place des chartes de la diversité nationales. Actuellement il en existe 24.

Cette plateforme fait partie d’un projet plus vaste dont l’objectif est de soutenir les initiatives volontaires qui encouragent lagestion de la diversité sur le lieu de travail. La plateforme d’échanges européenne permet à ceux qui font la promotion des chartes de la diversité déjà existantes de se rencontrer régulièrement lors de réunions, séminaires d’experts et d’un forum annuel afin de partager leurs expériences, bonnes pratiques et de développer des outils communs.

×